From Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon

14907117_10154614982602768_7839582975294048279_n

From Sand and Ash
Amy Harmon
Available December 1, 2016

Buy Now:
Kindle US: http://amzn.to/1PgmIeB
UK: http://amzn.to/2guMstP
AU: http://amzn.to/2g3DUtn
Paperback: http://amzn.to/1U9WRea
Audio: http://amzn.to/2f0JUDp

Add to Goodreads Here

Krystle’s 5+++ Star Review

So. It has officially been over a month since I finished From Sand and Ash. 35 days later and I still don’t have the ability to put together words that will do this one justice. I’ve tried a few different times but today I have run out of time, so what you’re going to get is a bunch of my ramblings and you’ll just have to deal.

In 2013 I read my first Amy Harmon book, A Different Blue. I remember reading it on the plane ride to Jamaica and being so in love with the writing and the story but more importantly sitting there in awe of how much time the author must have put into making the story perfect. There was so much history woven into the book in a way that was just perfect and never overbearing. I didn’t think any book would ever blow me away again like that one did.

Since then, I have read every single one of Amy’s books and every one blew me away in one way or another. Whether it was the unique characters, the history lessons or the incredible “aha!” moments she always seems to get me with. Most importantly she continued to amaze me with her ability to step out of her box and try something new and then completely hit it out of the park as though she had been writing that genre since the day she was born.

From Sand and Ash is no exception to any of these things. It is literally the most incredible story I have ever read and I can’t wait for the world to get their hands on it. Amy Harmon put her heart and soul into this story and it showcases every single bit of what makes her the best of the best.

For me, this book is like A Different Blue in that it has a TON of history wound through it all and I truly appreciated every single bit of it. Sure, I know about the holocaust and how awful it was. I read The Diary of Anne Frank as a young girl and it will forever stick with me. I’ve seen documentaries, TV shows, and movies and I’ve read what the history books tell us. None of those things have ever impacted me like this story. This work of “fiction” taught me more truths about the ugliness that was than all of those other things combined.

Without giving anything away, I will just quickly say that this book answered a question I have had most of my life. I always wondered how people could have just sit by and let this stuff happen right in front of their eyes. This book showed me just how wrong I was and how many people did play a part in saving lives. It showed me the involvement of the Catholic Church which I truly never knew a thing about and it warmed my heart in a way I can’t explain.

This book isn’t all about history lessons though, please don’t get me wrong. It is a beautiful story of love, loss, friendship, family, bravery, selflessness, heroism, war, evil and so much more. It truly has everything anyone would want in a story and I just know that this one will touch the hearts of so many different people. Most importantly, the ever-present theme of faith and the power or prayer will hit home with people through all walks of life. Amy’s ability to show how alike we really all are despite our differences is one of the things I love most about her stories.

At the very least, I will say that this story ripped my heart into pieces and then put it back together again more times than I can count. I was a ball of anxiety for much of it. I laughed. I cried. And then I cried some more. When I read the last line I saw there and sobbed for quite a while. Literally, the tears wouldn’t stop. Then I moved on to talk to my friends that had read it. And then I cried some more. This story will stick with me forever and I know it will for many others too.

I truly hope you will pick up this story even if Historical Romance isn’t usually your cup of tea. I can’t imagine anyone not enjoying the writing, the lessons, the characters and every other bit of it.

Infinite Stars for From Sand and Ash, a story more beautiful than the rest from one of the most amazing authors this world has to offer.

Thank you for sharing your light with us, Amy. We are all better because of it.

Leave a Reply

