The Bird and the Sword ** Review & Giveaway!!

13123033_10154115210072768_2146067860625460995_o

The Bird and the Sword
Amy Harmon
Published May 11th 2016

Swallow, Daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heav’n or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, Daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would trade his soul and lose his son to the sky.

My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.

But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

Enter Giveaway HERE ❤
Add to Goodreads
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || iTunes || Kobo

Krystle’s 5 Star Review

The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon is a captivating story so unlike anything I’ve ever read before. I don’t read much fantasy, but I do enjoy them every once in a while and I must say that this one is now on my short list of favorites. Filled with characters that I fell in love with from the start, an extremely unique plot and a beautiful love story, there was truly nothing I didn’t love about this book.

I must say I was shocked to hear that Amy was releasing a fantasy novel. It isn’t that I doubted her ability, I just thought to myself that she is so incredible at the stories she writes so how could she also be incredible at a genre so very different than her usual? As I started reading I was just blown away. I kept thinking how does someone’s mind create something like this? How does someone create a faraway land that I found myself completely wrapped up in within the first few pages? How does someone create characters that I loved so much right from the start? I guess my answer is that she’s Amy Freakin Harmon and she just does it. And she does it so, so well.

I’m sure that some of Amy’s usual followers may be a little reluctant to read a fantasy novel. If you’re not into fantasy it might be unnerving to take a risk on one…I can say with the utmost certainty that if you love Amy Harmon’s writing, you’ll love this story. It’s so beautifully written and most importantly it has her signature AHA moment! That moment that everything falls into place and all seems right in the world. That moment that your whole body is covered in goosebumps and there are tears in your eyes. Just because this might be a little out of your comfort zone, you do not want to miss out on this AHA moment!

Take the plunge, friends. Give something new a chance. Let yourself be taken away to the land of Jeru. Fall in love with Lark, Tiras and Boojohni. Let yourself be amazed with the creation of Amy Harmon, just like I was.

5 Stars for this one! I hope you all enjoy!

4 thoughts on “The Bird and the Sword ** Review & Giveaway!!

    • I would say this would be right up your alley also then 🙂 It has the feel of a historical romance also! I hope you enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

