Krystle’s Review of F*ck Love

FL jacket-1

I haven’t written a review in a very long time. In fact I haven’t read a book that made me feel the need to put my opinion into anything more than a quick rating and a line or two. But I feel like I just gotta write a few things for F*ck Love… I’ve been sitting here for quite a while now, trying to put my feelings about this book into words and I’m just finding it so hard to do. The longer I sit here, the more I am feeling and the harder it is getting to express it all…so here goes…

One thing I have learned is that when I dive into a Tarryn Fisher book I truly have no idea what to expect. I try to stay away from the blurbs or any discussion about it and go in with a completely open mind, ready to fall in love with whatever unique story she has decided to write. Unfortunately, with F*ck Love I knew way more than I wanted to going into it. TF had shared a bit about what was going on in her life, so I knew to expect some of that. I knew where the story took place and some of what she loved about said place, so I knew to expect some of that. Worst of all, while I posted a blog post about F*ck Love I saw a few key words of the blurb so I even knew to expect a little of that. Anyone that knows me knows I hate knowing ANYTHING about a book when I start it. So I was a little bit pissed. Lucky for me, even though I “knew what to expect,” I was wrong about all of “that” and F*ck Love took me by surprise.

I’ve seen many people say they didn’t feel the connection between Helena and Kit and couldn’t get into their story or feel their love. For me, Helena and Kit’s relationship felt more real than most other relationships I’ve read about recently and the longer I sit and reflect, the more I believe in their love. I personally think the best kind of love is one that not everyone understands. The inside jokes. The stolen glances. The quirks that others may find annoying. That is what made Kitlena far greater than Kitella ever could have been. That is what made me feel their love.

I think that just like any other book, life experiences are going to make certain people connect with a story more than others and this one I could connect to. Sure, I enjoyed Mud Vein and Marrow but I didn’t connect with any of those characters the way I connected with Kit and Helena. I’ve seen many reviews saying they feel as though these characters are just like the characters in the LMWL series. I personally can’t quite see a strong connection between the two stories and perhaps this is because I have lived a lot of life in the years between reading LMWL and FL and I see things a whole lot differently than I did back then. As much as I adore the characters from the LMWL series, I am happy that these characters don’t remind me of them. I am happy to be able to keep Calivia in their own little special part of my heart and that for me, F*ck Love was a completely unique story that made me feel all the feels.

My only true complaint about this book is that some parts felt rushed. I would have enjoyed more of different parts of the story but it wasn’t my story to tell so I have to be happy with the moments that we were given.

Overall, this book was 4.5 stars for me. I can see why it may have fallen short for some readers, but for me it was just the kind of Tarryn Fisher I have been waiting so long for. I think that each person is going to connect differently and that everyone should give this story a fair shot. Always remember that not everyone is going to connect to the same story. Thank goodness for that, we’d all be pretty damn boring if we all lived the same lives and liked the same stuff.
**I had to edit my original review and add a little Adele lyric that has been in my head since I finished Kit and Helena’s story…

I know you haven’t made your mind up yet,
But I will never do you wrong.
I’ve known it from the moment that we met,
No doubt in my mind where you belong.
I’d go hungry; I’d go black and blue,
And I’d go crawling down the avenue.
No, there’s nothing that I wouldn’t do,
To make you feel my love.

If that lyric makes you feel the way it makes me feel chances are Kit and Helena will mean something to you too.**

Oh…and wait just a minute…I lied…I do have another complaint about this book. Reading it pissed me right the f*ck off that I can’t visit Port Townsend. So thanks for that. F*ck You Fisher. ; )

Get your copy now here…
Amazon US:  http://amzn.to/1OzTRGO

And add to your Goodreads…
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25828204-f-ck-love

Happy Reading ❤

Leave a Reply

