Leylah Attar’s The Paper Swan * Krystle’s 5★ Review & MORE!

TPS_eCover

Cover Designed by the amazingly talented Hang Le

Synopsis
They say it takes 21 days to form a habit.
They lie.
For 21 days she held on.
But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death.
Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense. Please note: This is NOT a love triangle.

A full-length, standalone novel, intended for mature audiences due to violence, sex and language. Subject matter may be disturbing for some readers.

Add to your Goodreads!

The Paper Swan Purchase Links
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Kobo || iBooks

Krystle’s ★ ★ ★ Review

If you ask me for a book recommendation this year you are going to hear me say, “The Paper Swan by Leylah Attar.” Or I might yell it. Or I might just buy it and send it to your kindle and not talk to you until you have finished. Seriously. This book blew me away from the very first page. Literally, the first page had me hooked. Please do yourself a favor and one-click now. Don’t ask me for a new recommendation….don’t say you’re not sure if it’s what you’re in the mood for….don’t read the blurb to decide…just go buy it. Then read it. You’re welcome. 🙂

Okay, now that that is out of the way let’s talk about the book a bit. This book was so different from what I’ve been reading lately. As usual, I didn’t read the whole blurb but I did see a few tidbits of it here and there while I was setting up posts to share with you and let me tell you, I had NO idea what I was going into. I thought the cover was absolutely stunning but I was honestly dreading reading the book because of the reading funk that I was in. I thought it was going to be the same old thing but a maybe a little better because of Leylah’s writing. I knew that I loved Leylah’s way with words and that I’d enjoy it to an extent but I was honestly afraid that my mood was going to ruin the reading experience for me….I was SO, SO wrong. This book was the first book in weeks, maybe even months, that I couldn’t put down. I loved every word and it kept my attention from start to finish.

My advice to you would to be go into this book blind. I know that I’m known to be someone that hates spoilers and doesn’t read teasers and thinks everyone should go into everything blind…but this time I REALLY mean it. The twists and turns of the book are some of the best part of the story. Although it would still be enjoyable if you did know I just think being shocked was a great addition to the reading experience.

I don’t want to get into specifics about the book because I want you to experience it for yourself so I will just leave you with a few things that I hope you will love as much as I did. Leylah’s way with words is beautiful and unique. She truly has a knack for finding the right words for every scene and for making those words pull the feelings right out of you. She creates characters that you fall in love with. Or fall in hate with. Or hate and then love…and then hate…and then love? She just has this amazing talent to make you feel all these feelings even though you’re not sure you should be feeling them. It’s truly an experience and I loved every moment of it.

This book was no doubt a 5+ Star read for me. It topped my favorites of the year and is definitely now a part of my all time favorites list. I’d recommend it to anyone and everyone looking for their next read. I hope that this review did my feelings justice and that you’ll consider buying and reading. If so, enjoy the ride! 

**Although I’m begging you to go in blind…if you NEED and excerpt to convince you to read…here you go 🙂

I was still peering out of the stateroom window when Damian came in. He stopped in his tracks when he saw me. For one full, glorious second, he wasn’t in control. His gaze swept the length of my legs, over the hip-hugging shorts, and lingered on the swell of my breasts under the scandalous top. Ha! He wasn’t immune after all. He caught the smug look on my face before I could wipe it off, and his eyes narrowed.
Shit.
I took one step back for each one he took forward, until I was jammed up between him and the wall.
God, he was intense. And deliberate. And he could say things with his eyes that made my knees tremble. One side of his face was bruised and distorted from where I’d hit him. He grasped both my wrists in one hand and pinned them above me. Every part of me felt flush with the heat emanating from his body, even though that was the only point of contact. He hooked a finger in the ‘V’ of my blouse, tracing the dangerously low cleavage. His touch was so soft, it was barely discernible.
“Skye?” He seemed hypnotized by the rapid rise and fall of my chest.
I swallowed.
“Don’t play with scorpions unless you intend to get stung.” He yanked the neckline apart.
Round, glass buttons popped onto the floor and rolled around like eyeballs, astounded by the sight of my bare flesh.
“We’re harsh and predatory and full of venom.” He gnashed his teeth at me and ripped my blouse in two.
He tore off a strip and bound my wrists. Then he used the hanging trail like a leash and led me to bed.
“You’ve been trying to get a rise out of me for days. Now that you have my attention, what are you going to do?” He leaned forward, so close that I fell back onto the mattress, trying to get away from him. “Or is it that you want me to do all the work so your pampered pussy gets a taste of the other side, but you can tell yourself you didn’t have a choice?” He crawled up over me, slowly, until we were nose to nose.
I felt like hell was about to consume me. I could hear the men outside, gearing up to fill the tanks. Would they hear the sound of my screams?
“Would you like me to invite them in?” Damian secured my wrists to the bed post. “Do you really think you’d be safer with them instead of me?” He tore off another strip, giving me the chance to scream or yell or shout for help. When I didn’t, he tied it around my mouth.
He sank back on his heels, kneeling between my legs, and ran a finger from my neck to the front clasp of my bra. I stopped breathing. He moved on, trailing over my stomach, until he got to the band of my shorts. He toyed with the tab, enjoying the start-stop effect it had on my heart.
“Such a frightened little bird,” he said. Then he yanked my legs around his hips so I was flush with his rock hard arousal. “You should know better than to provoke me.”

leylah attar button

Author Bio and Links

Leylah Attar writes stories about love – shaken, stirred and served with a twist. When she’s not writing, she can be found pursuing her other passions: photography, food, family and travel. Sometimes she disappears into the black hole of the internet, but can usually be enticed out with chocolate.

Website || Twitter || Facebook || Goodreads ||Pinterest

 

One thought on “Leylah Attar’s The Paper Swan * Krystle’s 5★ Review & MORE!

  1. Best book this year for me. One night read. I simply couldn’t put it down. It stayed with me for days…addicted !!!! 👍👍👍👍👍

Leave a Reply

