***** Maria’s FIVE-STAR review of Dead of Winter, by Daryl Banner *****

9/10

This book blew me away!! I really enjoyed the first book in the series, but I was still not prepared for how much I loved this one!! Daryl Banner kept everything that captured me in the The Beautiful Dead and pumped up the romance level to about 1,000 – which was just exactly what I needed in order to completely fall in love with this series!

I’m really not into scary, creepy, or disgusting when it comes to books! But (once again) Daryl manages to make it all not just palatable, but exceptionally entertaining for me! His sense of humor is the major reason all of this works. The sarcasm and dry wit mingle perfectly with the dark humor to carry me through the bits that made me cringe and wrinkle my nose in disgust, and the bits that made me pull the covers up higher and read all night, unable to stop and scared to go on!

Really though, this is not a zombie book. No, really!! It’s a great character driven book which explores human relationships, the strength of the human spirit, and includes an epic struggle of good vs. evil…and most of its characters just happen to be zombies. The reflection and introspection levels generated while reading this book were high, but not any higher than the entertainment value! The only thing I love more than a book that completely entertains is one that makes me think while it does so!! Daryl hits every high note, misses no opportunity to make me smile, and creeps the ever loving shit out of me!

You win, Daryl! You win.

Go read The Beautiful Dead now, follow up with Dead of Winter immediately. Don’t blame me if you can’t sleep! 🙂

Synopsis:

** This is Book #2 in THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD trilogy. It is recommended to read this series in order. **
Book #1: The Beautiful Dead
Book #2: Dead Of Winter
Book #3: Almost Alive

No one said being an Undead is easy.

Winter’s Second Life became a lot more complicated when the Living moved into her hometown of Trenton. Undead neighbors fight with their Breathing ones. Food is sparse. And, worst of all, the season is taking a change for the colder.

A desperate plea for help to a neighboring city turns deadly and soon Winter finds herself facing an old friend from her past whose plot to annihilate all life on the planet may have everything to do with her.

And what about the man-with-the-heartbeat in her house? Is there even room for love in such a ruined, unforgiving world?

New friends are made. Others are lost forever. In the dead of winter, no one is safe.

Click cover image to purchase on Amazon!

Dead Of Winter (The Beautiful Dead 2)

Leave a Reply

