The Law of Moses * Krystle’s 5 Star Review, Excerpt and More!

tlombanner

tlomcover

Cover design by: Hang Le

Hosted by: Alpha Literary Services

Synopsis: 

If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know its coming, and it will hurt. But youll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.

And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all…a love story.

 Add The Law of Moses to your Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon || iTunes || B&N || Kobo

Connect with Amy

Website || Facebook || Twitter || Pinterest || Amazon || Goodreads

About Amy Harmon

Amy Harmon knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, and she divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story.

Amy Harmon has been a motivational speaker, a grade school teacher, a junior high teacher, a home school mom, and a member of the Grammy Award winning Saints Unified Voices Choir, directed by Gladys Knight. She released a Christian Blues CD in 2007 called “What I Know” – also available on Amazon and wherever digital music is sold. She has written five novels, Running Barefoot, Slow Dance in Purgatory, Prom Night in Purgatory, the New York Times Bestseller, A Different Blue, Making Faces and most recently, Infinity + One. Her newest book, The Law of Moses released November 27, 2014.

☆☆☆☆☆ Krystle’s 5 Star Review ☆☆☆☆☆

The Law of Moses was a carefully thought out story about love, forgiveness, imperfections, faith and so much more. It is an incredibly moving story unlike anything I have ever read. Amy Harmon has an ability to create such unique stories and tie in so many different aspects to make her stories almost impossible to categorize and TLoM is no exception. In my personal opinion it is almost an injustice to put a label on a story like this because I believe each individual could get something completely different than the next.

It truly amazes me when I ponder how much time and effort must be put into Amy’s books and her attention to detail in order to make everything come together perfectly. Not only does she create stories that are all encompassing but she manages to teach me things that I find so interesting that I may never have learnt otherwise.
Although A Different Blue is and probably always will be my favorite Amy Harmon book The Law of Moses is now close behind right along with Running Barefoot. These three books have some of the most incredible WOW factors out of any books I have read. Amy layers her stories in such a way that when everything unfolds I am left in awe and it is such a refreshing feeling to be truly blown away while reading.***I would like to make a note about Running Barefoot and the nods that Amy gives to that beautiful story in TLoM. It is definitely NOT necessary in any way shape or form to read Running Barefoot before reading TLoM…BUT…if you do plan on reading both I would recommend reading RB first so you can experience the same goosebump enducing moments that I did when we got a slight look into the lives of some beloved RB characters. Again, you definitely do not HAVE to read RB to appreciate the beauty of TLoM but if you do plan on reading both I’d recommend starting with RB.***

Anyways, please do yourself a favor and read this book no matter what you may have heard about it. I truly believe that this is a book that you have to read yourself to make your own decisions about it. I believe that everyone could get some insight into their own lives by diving into story of Moses and Georgia.

As I end this reivew in fear of continuing to ramble and give anything away I’d like to leave you with #5Greats…Today My #5Greats are…

#1 – Authors such as Amy Harmon who dare to step out of the box and deliver something beautiful and different. Without you I couldn’t possibly read as many books as I do. I crave the risks that you dare to take.

#2 – Great friends. Without them life would be so bland. I can’t thank my friends enough for bringing sunshine into even my darkest days.

#3 Victoria Secret Yoga Pants. They are just.so.comfy. I wish I could wear them to work so I could be in them aaalll day every day!

#4 The blanket that my husband got me last Christmas. It is so soft and warm and I wish I was cuddled up in it right NOW.

#5 The winter flavors of Polar Seltzer Water. Yum. Cranberry Clementine and Blackberry Bergamot oh how I love you. Delicioso!

Exceprt

 

Lucky was a horse with a black coat and an even darker mane. He was the most beautiful horse I’d ever seen, but he knew he was beautiful, and he had a temper. He didn’t want to be touched or ridden or coaxed into standing still. He wanted me to leave him alone. Dad had a client that hadn’t been able to pay his vet bills, so they’d worked out a trade. It wasn’t a great trade, because Dad needed horses he and Mom could train to be around kids. But the horse had a pedigree Dad liked, and he thought maybe he could get some stud fees out of him.

Lucky reminded me of Moses—powerful and perfectly formed, muscles sinuous and defined just below the sleek surface, and the way he held his head and ignored me was almost spot-on Moses. But then Lucky would look at me and I knew he was well aware of my presence. He hadn’t forgotten me for a moment, and he wanted me to chase him. Call me crazy, but I was pretty sure what worked with the horse could work with the boy.

Moses came back that night. And again the next night. And the next. I watched him in wonder as he added color to the lines and a dream-like quality to the story that made me feel like I’d stepped inside the blind man’s head and was seeing it all through his eyes—seeing the world for the very first time.

Moses didn’t stop with my walls. On the third night the story continued on my ceiling, and he rigged up some scaffolding so he could paint the Sistine Chapel right on my ten by twelve bedroom ceiling. I had to admit, I didn’t know about the Sistine Chapel until Moses told me all about Michelangelo as he assembled the platform he intended to lie on while he painted. He said some day he would see it in person. He wanted to travel all over the world and see all the great art. That was his dream. I stayed very quiet while he talked, only contributing when I thought he was losing steam and might stop talking. I needed him to keep talking. I wanted to know everything about him. I wanted inside, and little by little, especially when he was painting, he was giving me glimpses, brief moments with him that I treasured up like a child collecting fragile shells and shiny pebbles. And when he wasn’t with me, I took out those treasures and turned them over and over in my mind, studying them from every angle, learning him.

Thank you to Alpha Literary Services
for including us in the Blog Tour!
tlomalpha

2 thoughts on “The Law of Moses * Krystle’s 5 Star Review, Excerpt and More!

Leave a Reply

