Krystle’s 5 Star Review of Girl of Vengeance by Charles Sheehan-Miles

So I finished Girl of Vengeance a few days ago now and I still really don’t know where to begin this review. There is so much I want to say but so much that I need to leave out because I do not want to give away a single tidbit of this incredible story!

When I first read Just Remember to Breathe by CSM in July of 2013 I felt an instant connection to the Thompson Sisters and really enjoyed reading about them. A few days later I read A Song for Julia and I fell in love. I adored the sisters and all the other characters in their lives and I couldn’t wait to read more. My love for this family just continued to grow and through CSM’s incredible character development and outstanding story-telling skills I feel as though I KNOW these characters. Like, really know them. After 3 books and a novella in the original Thompson Sisters series and then 3 more books in The Rachel’s Peril trilogy I am officially in mourning over the fact that there are no more Thompson Sisters books for me to anticipate release day for. *insert my pouty face here!*

Girl of Vengeance was the last book in The Rachel’s Peril Trilogy. These books, especially this one, truly blew my mind. They were full of so many twists and turns, action-packed to the brim and overflowing with emotional turmoil. The range of feelings that these books ripped out of me was honestly just incredible. I was anxious, nervous, excited, hopeful, elated, crushed…I mean I just felt it all. And the explosive way that this author goes about revealing secrets and big “AHA moments” just left me in shock time and time again.

These books are definitely not just your normal quick reads that you leaf threw to pass the time. There are so many important details that you have to pay attention to. Honestly, sometimes I just felt as though my head was spinning…not in a bad way! In an “OMG, what could POSSIBLY happen next,” or “How much more can this family endure,” kind of way. There were a few different times that I said, there’s no possible way this is all going to make sense. HOW can this all come together. But my goodness, does it ever come together! This final book gave me so many answers. So many mind-blowing answers that make me just want to bow down to CSM’s skills. He gave me closure on every question I had in mind. He left NO loose ends and even gave me closure on things I didn’t know I still craved from the first Thompson Sisters books.  I don’t want to sound like I’m just gushing over this author just to gush but truly I don’t think the series could have ended any better.

So yeah, I could go on and on raving about these books, but I won’t. Just know that it is an INCREDIBLE series that will make you think and entertain you for hours on end. It isn’t necessary to read Just Remember to Breathe, Falling Stars, A Song for Julia, and The Last Hour to enjoy the Rachel’s Peril trilogy but if you are looking for a long series to read I HIGHLY recommend starting at the beginning. Although I think these three books would be enjoyable without reading the others first I think the WHOLE series is a journey that everyone should commit to.  These books have it all. They discuss REAL topics that other authors are too afraid to touch. These characters open your eyes and make you dig deep to think what you would do in their shoes.  So do yourselves a favor and dive in!

Note to Charles Sheehan-Miles:
Thank you for creating my favorite fictional family that I have ever read about and sharing their story with us! I love these stories to pieces. And please…preeetttyyy please…don’t be afraid to go back and decide you want to do another spin-off series someday. I’m sure Rachel will have some interesting stuff going on someday we’d all want to hear about.  Aaaand I sure hope Uncle Crank doesn’t leave my life forever! Lol. Yeah, maybe I’m pathetic, but oh well.

oh….and by the way…how kicka s s is Andrea?! My goodness!
Ok..that is all.

Read these books people!

Girl of Vengeance is available at the following retailers:

If you haven’t read the Thompson Sisters or Rachel’s Peril books yet, you can get the first book, A Song for Julia, for free. Here are the links for the series:

The Thompson Sisters

julia-small

A Song for Julia

When society girl Julia Thompson and rock guitarist Crank Wilson meet at an anti-war protest in Washington in the fall of 2002, the connection between them is so powerful it threatens to tear everything apart.

Amazon Nook Kobo iBooks Google

Audible

falling-stars

Falling Stars

After Crank Wilson screwed up so badly, is there any way he can win Julia back?

Amazon Nook Kobo iBooks Google

justremembertobreath-small

Just Remember to Breathe

The only problem Dylan Paris and Alexandra Thompson have is that they keep breaking the rules. The first rule is to never, ever talk about how they fell in love.

Amazon Nook Kobo iBooks Google Audible

last-hour-small

The Last Hour

Carrie and Ray Sherman are faced with the most devastating choices of their lives.

Amazon Nook Kobo iBooks Google Audible

Rachel’s Peril Trilogy

GoL-Small

Book 1: Girl of Lies

Andrea Thompson’s return to the United States sets off a political firestorm.`

Amazon Nook Kobo iBooks Google Audible

 Girl of Rage Book 2: Girl of Rage Four days ago, everything in Andrea Thompson’s life changed. Now she’s running for her life.

Amazon Nook Kobo iBooks Google

 GoV-AMZN-tiny Book 3: Girl of VengeanceAndrea Thompson and Dylan Paris are on the run and the Thompson Sisters are fighting to survive events outside of their control.

Amazon Kobo iBooks Google

About the Author

Charles Sheehan-Miles has been a soldier, computer programmer, short-order cook and non-profit executive, and is the author of more than a dozen fiction and non-fiction books, including the indie bestsellers Just Remember to Breathe and Republic: A Novel of America’s Future. He is a member of The Authors Guild and the Association of Independent Authors.

Charles and his partner Andrea Randall live and write together in South Hadley, Massachusetts.

I write about things I’m passionate about: love, romance, war; addiction, remorse, guilt. I write about the things that terrify me and give me joy. I write about life.

3 thoughts on “Krystle’s 5 Star Review of Girl of Vengeance by Charles Sheehan-Miles

  1. Pingback: Around the Book Blogosphere #11 — Swiftober, Bookish Travel, & Feeling Gif-y - Reading Books Like a Boss

Leave a Reply

