Insipid by Christine Brae * Krystle’s Review & more!

blogtour_Insipid_851x315

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00025]

BUY LINKS

Synopsis:

Banal. Lifeless and Colorless. These are the words that describe my life. I’ve made the right choices, done all the right things. I’m strong, intelligent and highly successful.

I’ve lived scrupulously, loved greatly, and shared my blessings equitably.

But life hasn’t been fair with me.

Now I’m drowning in the middle of the ocean, desperately searching for the shore, surrendering to the fact that I will never be happy.

Then he came along.

Life is unpredictable. You can play it safe and resist change for fear of the unknown. Or you can close your eyes and take the leap with the knowledge that your life will change forever.

Which one will I choose?

My name is Jade Richmond and this is my story.

Insipid_CB_Teaser2

 

 

AboutTheAuthorauthor picChristine Brae is a full time career woman who thought she could write a book about her life and then run away as far as possible from it. She never imagined that her words would touch the hearts of so many women with the same story to tell. Insipid, her third book, is due to be released in June of 2014.
When not listening to the voices in her head or spending late nights at the office, Christine can be seen shopping for shoes and purses, running a half marathon or spending time with her husband and three children in Chicago.

 

Enter the Amazing Giveaway!
CLICK HERE!

Christine is giving away:

  • Three Insipid ebooks
  • Three Insipid signed paperbacks
  • $50 Gift Card (winner choice on retailer)

Good Luck! 🙂

 

Krystle’s Review

Let me start off by saying Christine Brae is a brave, brave woman. She picks topics that others may be too scared to write about and she throws her whole being into her words.  My favorite authors are those that are willing to take risks and Christine Brae is absolutely a risk taker. I admire her bravery and commend her for going against the grain.

Insipid drew me in right from the first pages. It is actually humorous to me how intense the prologue is and how invested I was in after just reading it. CB now has a reputation of writing INSANELY intense prologues so when she posted the prologue as a “teaser” and told me it was available to read, I laughed and said HECK NO! I knew that if I read the prologue before I had the rest in my hand I would be tortured in the worst way. When I finally had the whole book in my hands and I read the prologue I literally laughed out loud. Not because it was funny, it wasn’t funny at all. I laughed because I knew I had made the right decision, I would have been messaging her day in and day out for more of the story if I had read that prologue and didn’t have the rest to read.

Insipid has some really great themes in it. I really enjoyed her way of tying in the seasons to the ups and downs of life. I totally relate to this and often have this conversation with my fiancé. Both of us suffer from slight depression when winter comes along – I think in a way everyone does. The cold, the snow, no sunshine…yuck…it’s just…yuck. But then spring comes and gives you hope and summer arrives and life is good again…That is so my outlook on the seasons and that was probably my favorite part of the story. I feel like the beginning of the book was so strong because of the way she tied this theme in. After a while, the book seemed to jump around a bit too much for me and I think that if she had stayed strong with this theme it would have finished off with as much as a bang as it began.

I also loved how Christine describes feeling “lost.” I think that we all feel lost sometimes; it’s a part of life. It was honestly refreshing to read about someone that seems to have it all but was still missing something. It’s nice to know that even people that have success, lots of money and lots of nice things don’t have true happiness from it. True happiness comes from other aspects of our lives and Jade, the main character in this book, exemplifies this one-hundred percent.

The characters in Insipid didn’t really do it for me. I enjoyed reading about them; I just didn’t necessarily like them very much. At times I loved Jade but then there were other times that I wanted to shake some sense in to her. All the main men in her life just made me cringe. They were all completely awful in their own way and I honestly wished they would all disappear or merge into one to create a halfway decent non-jerkoff! That all being said, I still enjoyed reading about the characters and there were some secondary characters that I absolutely adored!

All in all it is pretty difficult for me to rate this book. Some parts of it were an absolute 5 stars for me while others fell short. In no way am I saying that this book wasn’t good, it was, and I really enjoyed parts of it…I just think it could have been better. I think Christine Brae blew me away with His Wounded Light so anything other than perfection from her just seems wrong. She is so talented and so special that I know with a little bit more work this could have been an absolute 5 Star read! No matter what, Christine is still an author I love to read and I am already looking forward to what she has in store for us next!

Leave a Reply

