Krystle’s Five + One Star Review of Infinity + One by Amy Harmon

INFINITY-+-ONE-FULL-WRAP-1024x729

Amazon || Amazon UK || Barnes & Noble || iTunes

Krystle’s Five + One Star Review!

Let me start this review by saying Amy Harmon is a risk taker. She doesn’t take the easy route with her story lines but instead picks topics that are unique and exceptional to read about.  Just when you think you might have found a similarity to another book you have read, she proves you wrong. You’ll never find another story like the ones she writes and that is what makes Amy Harmon and her novels extraordinary.

Infinity + One is the story of Bonnie Rae Shelby and Finn Clyde. Never have two characters been so completely opposite and wrong for each other yet so perfectly right. Bonnie Rae Shelby is a rich, beautiful, famous country girl who seems to have it all. Finn Clyde doesn’t have much but is ready to do whatever it takes to survive. Bonnie is ready to make a change, either end it all or start being a little more adventurous to live life her way while Finn has had just about enough adventure to last him a life time. When fate threw a curveball into both of their lives and brought them to each other both of their lives took turns they weren’t expecting.

Maybe it was because I was raised in Appalachia, raised in faith and poverty and little else, but I believed in things like fate and destiny. I believed in angels, and I believed in God’s ability to direct our paths, to guide us and move us in unseen ways, and I believed in miracles. Suddenly, Finn Clyde felt like a miracle, and I felt sure that Minnie had sent him to me.

This is a story about two characters waking up and coming to certain realizations about their life. It is about living the life you want to live, about learning to love and about accepting fate. This book makes you believe that maybe everything does, in fact, happen for a reason and that maybe this world isn’t only filled with bad.

[She] was juggling a lot of crap. And shit is incredibly difficult to juggle. No matter how hard you try, it still falls apart and slips through your fingers, and even when you’re managing to keep it aloft, it still stinks.

This book is also about real people with real problems. It is so refreshing to read about people you can relate to and characters that don’t look at the world through rose-colored glasses. Even Bonnie, a rich and beautiful superstar was refreshing to read about. She was flawed and knew that even other people with flaws were worth helping. She was very aware that the world is full of some real heavy shit.

The characters that I immediately fell in love with and the powerful and beautiful writing in this angsty page turner made this story about as memorable and perfect as it gets for me. Obviously we all read to be entertained and most of the books I read do, in fact, entertain but Infinity + One as well as Amy’s other novels just bring reading to another level for me. I walk away feeling like a better person for knowing the story and it can’t be an easy task to create those feelings in someone.

I cannot write this review without taking the time to note the research that Amy must do for her books. The time and energy she must spend perfecting her stories just amazes me. Infinity + One is a lot like A Different Blue in this sense. A Different Blue was the first book by Amy Harmon that I read and I was blown away. Never had I finished a book and felt the way that I did when I finished that book…until now.  She is so concise with the facts that she provides and every little detail she includes holds so much importance. Even if you don’t know it at the time, you quickly learn that she doesn’t throw something in to her stories just because and when everything finally falls into place it’s beautiful. Goosebump-inducing, jaw-droppingly beautiful. That’s the only way I can describe it. My arms are covered in goosebums and my jaw is left wide open when Amy’s stories come together and I only wish that she could write a little faster so I could experience that feeling more in my life.

So yes, as I had assumed it would be, Infinity + One is yet another canon-worthy novel by Amy Harmon. Before I read this book, I was in love with it. Amy Harmon has given me a reason to believe in her writing and storytelling abilities and through the cover and the blurb alone I knew this was going to be a story to remember. Thankfully, Amy did not disappoint and once again delivered a story that immediately found a spot in my top favorites and that I will recommend time and time again.

Leave a Reply

