Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher * Maria’s 5-Star Review * Giveaways & More!

releaseweek_MudVein_851x359

Mud Vein
Tarryn Fisher
Mud Vein Cover
Synopsis
When reclusive novelist Senna Richards wakes up on her thirty-third birthday, everything has changed. Caged behind an electrical fence, locked in a house in the middle of the snow, Senna is left to decode the clues to find out why she was taken. If she wants her freedom, she has to take a close look at her past. But, her past has a heartbeat…and her kidnapper is nowhere to be found. With her survival hanging by a thread, Senna soon realizes this is a game. A dangerous one. Only the truth can set her free.

Amazon || Amazon UK
Smashwords || Barnes & Noble || iTunes

MVteaserblood

One of the best things about the wait for Mud Vein was Tarryn’s letter to her readers.
In case you missed it…
or if you just want to read it again (and again, and again like I did)
we have provided it here for you to read.
Enjoy ❤

Dear Reader,
I am a writer and words are my weapon. I want to hurt you. I want my words to be salt, and I want to pour them into your open wound. I want my words to be jagged pieces of mirror that you can see yourself reflected in. I am a sadist otherwise known as an artist. My books are a call to women who have been doubled over by heartache, bound by boredom, captives of a past that will not let them go, victors of a past that tried to kill them. I have a disease you see, it’s called human nature, and I am fascinated by it. So, if you choose to read Mud Vein remember that about me. I’m not writing to entertain you, or to make money, or to have my book propped neatly on a shelf in Target. I write to explore the dark corners of myself, and I want you to come with me. I’m a little bit like you. I think you’ll see yourself in the pages of Mud Vein. I haven’t told  you very much about it on purpose. I want you to go in blind. I want you to stumble across a thought, a sound, a hurt-which you had thought special to you. And realize I have felt them too, someone you have never met. If you choose to read Mud Vein, please don’t ask yourself what it says, ask yourself what it means. And once you read my black words, on a white page, e-mail me and tell me your interpretation. I can’t wait for your thoughts.

Tarryn Fisher

Tarryn Fisher Author Pic

About Tarryn Fisher

I am a real life villain, truly. I drink sick amounts of Starbucks. Most of the time my hair smells like coffee. I was born in South Africa, and lived there for most of my childhood. I moved to Seattle just for the rain. Rome is my favorite place in the world so far, Paris comes in at a close second. I read and write more than I sleep. When I was eleven, I wrote an entire novel about runaway orphans, using only purple ink. I am addicted to Florence and the Machine and will travel to see concerts. I love scary movies and giraffes. I spend way too much time on Facebook. Meet you there?…

Goodreads || Facebook || Twitter || Website

CLICK HERE TO JOIN TARRYN’S FAN CHAT
April 27th from 8-10pm EST
Don’t miss out!

Click here for Giveaway #1
10 ebook copies of MUD VEIN during her release day and release week events

& for the mother of all prizes…
Seriously…the best prize ever…
Tarryn is giving away a grandprize experience – win a date with Tarryn!!
This giveaway will run throughout April and winner to be announced at Tarryn’s FAN CHAT

Click here for Giveaway #2

tarryndatesign2_edited-1


Maria’s 5-Star Review

10/10

There aren’t enough stars in the heavens.

Disclaimer (in three parts)
1. This review will in no way be worthy of the magnificence that is this book.

2. I may, or may not have had a few drinks tonight, so I cannot guarantee complete coherency.

3. I’m going to gush about this book. I loved everything about it, and I am going to ramble and prattle, and otherwise just GUSH about it. I’m sorry. 


I am a Tarryn Fisher fan. No, scratch that, I am a fangirl…I am an obsessive, cried like a baby the first time I met her, worship at my own personal shrine, stalker/fan! I thought that no book would ever knock her book, The Opportunist, from the top spot on my all time favorites list! But that is exactly what just happened. I could not have possibly gone into this book with higher expectations, but Tarryn managed to surpass them all!! 

So, what did I love about this book?

The writing – ok, what can I say about Tarryn’s writing that I haven’t already said? She is a magical word fairy! A wizard…a sorcerer…there is no way that a human being should be able to put words together the way that she does…but she continues to do it!! Her words punch me straight in the heart and wash over my brain like a chemical bath that rewires the way my synapses fire. They are just brilliant words, strung together brilliantly, to create a masterpiece.

The characters – Seriously, have there ever been characters that rang more true? More pathetically broken? More authentically heroic? More vividly, hauntingly REAL? The answer is no. I feel these characters in my bones. In my soul. I believe them, even when I think they are doing the ABSOLUTE WRONG thing. They are real to me…When I sit and ponder their story, I picture where they are now, how they are doing, what they are feeling, and I know somewhere in my rational brain that they don’t really exist, but I also KNOW in my heart, that they really do. They are me. They are you. They are Tarryn. We may not want to admit how much of us we see in them, but it’s true.

The story – twisted, terrifying, haunting, heartbreaking, and yet so unbelievably beautiful – this story is not explainable. You need to go into it blind – with only the synopsis to color your view! Tarryn does such a masterful job of revealing the details…exposing each fact at the perfect time! The book is so suspenseful, and yet so wholly satisfying throughout that I was never impatient, just fascinated and on the edge of my seat from the very first words! The emotion was so very personal for me – it was like Tarryn had rummaged through my soul, dragged every dark piece into the light, animated every twisted thought that none of us admits to having, gave voice to every demon that I try so hard to keep caged, didn’t shrink away from a single stain, and somehow made it all unbelievably gorgeous. I found myself short of breath at several times while reading, because the effort it took to process all the emotion literally made it difficult for me to breathe! Tarryn Fisher is an effing evil genius and I hate her as much as I love her!

This book…is just…indescribably brilliant. (Have I said Brilliant enough yet??). There is not a single word I would change, not a moment that didn’t work for me, not an emotion that I couldn’t feel straight into my bones. It is perfection. It crashed down on me like a tidal wave, and left my heart forever changed. Words have power. Tarryn wields them like a surgeon with a scalpel…and sometimes like a body-builder with a sledgehammer. You will hurt. You will be touched deeply. You will see hope and beauty and LIFE in the devastation. You MUST READ this book.

Leave a Reply

