Block 24 by Evan Tyler * Krystle’s 5 Star Review

b24

Block 24
Evan Tyler
Published May 2013

Synopsis:
A re-emergence of the past…

Natalie Clarke might be spiteful at best and vicious at worst, but was that reason enough for Phillip Gise to leave her lonely and diseased? Fortunately, she has a set of devious plans that just might keep her busy enough to forget her present situation.

Guy Lewis has played Best Friend Extraordinaire to Natalie since grade school, supporting her through all of her daily drama. This time around, Guy runs into his own troubles when his fierce, wealthy manager gives him the type of attention he never asked for…or expected.

Julia Clarke, Natalie’s younger sister, has arrived in Brooklyn to uncover their grandmother’s secret life in Block 24, the site of Auschwitz’s little-known brothel. What Julia discovers proves more relevant in the present age than ever before.

Both heady and sobering, Block 24 is a look at the ways evil from the past can so insidiously visit the present

Add to Goodreads || Connect with Evan Tyler || Purchase on Amazon

Krystle’s 5 Star Review
Block 24 was a very unique, intense story which I would recommend to anyone and everyone looking for something deep, dark and absolutely genius.  I read this as part of my NOLA reading spree and couldn’t put my feelings into words. Even now, weeks later, nothing I say could possibly do this gem even a bit of justice.

Block 24 has many different story lines all intertwined, each very different yet somewhat the same.  It is not your traditional love story all wrapped up pretty and delivered with a bow on top. Not even a little bit. It is ugly, brutal real and honestly quite emotionally draining. All of these things are what made it a 5 star read for me.

This book. This book warmed my heart one minute and ripped it out the next. I felt like with each turn of the page I didn’t have the slightest clue as to where the story would take me next. Its characters portrayed some acts of absolute loyalty only to deliver the ultimate betrayal a short time later. Block 24 was a constant ride of ups and downs. Each time I thought I was able catch my breath it would deliver the next blow and turn my world upside down over and over again.

Filled with completely unexpected twists and turns, parallels between the stories of then and now and just plain craziness, Block 24 was unlike anything I have experienced before. 5 Stars for Block 24 and 5 Stars for Evan Tyler. You, my lady, blew this one outa the water. You’re a freakin rockstar.

Leave a Reply

