***Maria’s review of Allegiant, by Veronica Roth***

9/10

I LOVE this series. Love, love, love!!!! This book is the weakest of the three (just like Mockingjay and Requiem) but I still thoroughly enjoyed it, start to finish!

Yes, the plot gets convoluted (and I did care more about the conflict between the factions than the whole GP/GD battle), and the genetic damage issue requires a LOT of suspension of disbelief…but I’m ok with that! I read for the fantasy, for the escape, not for the science! Yes, the ending is controversial, and tore my heart out. But I also felt like it was completely in keeping with the character’s previous actions, and therefore while I wanted to curse and throw things I had to sigh and allow the sad acceptance to settle in…this was the correct ending. It hurts, but I can’t argue with it. My ability to accept this ending (with only a few tears shed) backs up my claim that I would have accepted a tragic ending from Requiem over the “non-ending” that we got.

I really enjoyed the alternating POVs – and Four is one of my favorite book boyfriends ever! He’s just *sigh* perfect. I though the character development continued to be a strong suit in this book (as it was in the first two), although there were too many minor characters introduced for that to be true across the board. In fact, if I have one complaint, it’s that there were just too many characters and not enough time to understand or develop feelings for them all.

The writing, as with the first two books, was just phenomenal for me! Here are just a few of the quotes that made me stop and type status updates:

“I’m not sure when, or if, anything will ever get better, not sure if these wounds are the kind that can heal.”
~Tris

“I wonder if this is how it is with all evil men, that to someone they look just like good men, talk like good men, are just as likable as good men.”
~Tris

“I know that change is difficult, and comes slowly, and that it is the work of many days strung together in a long line until the origin of them is forgotten. He is afraid that he will not be able to put in that work, that he will squander those days, and that they will leave him worse off than he is now. And I understand that feeling – I understand being afraid of yourself.”
~Four

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.
But sometimes it doesn’t.
Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.
That is the sort of bravery I must have now.”
~Four
I have said it a thousand times, but I will just keep saying it!! If you liked Hunger Games, this is a MUST READ!!!

Click the cover to purchase from Amazon!

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

Leave a Reply

