**Maria’s 5-Star review of Making Faces, by Amy Harmon**

10/10

This review isn’t going to be like my normal reviews. Because this book isn’t like any “normal” book. I have spent 3 days trying to figure out what to say…how to evaluate the characters, the story, and the writing as I usually do, and I can’t. I just…can’t. The story is a 10. The characters, 10. The writing, 10. That doesn’t tell you what this book is…what it’s about…what it made me feel. So that’s what I’m going to attempt to tell you. I apologize in advance that this review will in no way be worthy of the book.

Beauty.

That’s what this book is about. External. Internal. It is subjective. Our perception of it shapes us. It shapes our view of ourselves, and our world. Having it and losing it. Growing up without it, and then gaining it. Valuing it over the people who posses it, and those who do not.

That is the obvious subject of the book. But there are so many other levels of meaning in this subtle stunner of a book.

Loyalty. Friendship. Patriotism. Faith. Family. Futility. Hope.

Looking death in the face and choosing to live.

The day-to-day bravery of the characters in this book is absolutely earth shattering to me. The honor. The sacrifice. And not just from the people you would expect. This is a beautiful story. It is also so ugly, so hard to feel at times that I had to take a break, put my hand on my heart and close my eyes…give it time to pass. It is real. Harsh. Glorious. Powerful in a quiet, believable way. Honest. At times, overwhelming in its honesty.

In the end, for me, this book is about the everyday miracle of survival. As someone who is currently surviving the hardest year of my life (so far)…continuing to go on, and even finding some sort of happiness (or hope that it can be found) is the greatest miracle of all.

This book is special. Read it. Do it now.

PS: Amy Harmon wins the “Best Chapter Titles Ever” award for this book! Pay attention.

Click the cover to buy on Amazon!

Making Faces

12 thoughts on “**Maria’s 5-Star review of Making Faces, by Amy Harmon**

  1. I also thought this was an amazing book. I loved everything about it. I had half the book highlighted from all the quotes I loved.

  2. Great review! I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone. And if you haven’t read “A Different Blue” I highly recommend it. It’s just as good as Making Faces 🙂

  3. Great review! I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone. And if you haven’t read “A Different Blue” I highly recommend it. It’s just as good as Making Faces 🙂

  4. Great review. Any Harmon is one of those authors where I’ll buy the book without needing to read the blurb. Have not read Making Faces yet…need to get on that!

  5. I liked your review. It didn’t give away any of the actual story, but told me what it’s about, what you liked about it, and how it made you feel. I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while now.

  6. Very nice review and enticing. Just the way you review it seems like this book is bound to change perception within ourselves and outside world. I am now looking forward to read this . Thanks

Leave a Reply

