Krystle’s 5 Star Review of Karina Halle’s The Devil’s Metal (Devils, #1)

Devils-Metal-Cover_16

Ok, first off, how freakin gorgeous is this cover?!
I need it in paperback ASAP! LOVE.LOVE.LOVE!!!

Okay, aaaanyways…here is my 5 Star Review!

The Devil’s Metal is a book unlike anything I have ever read. Truly. It is perfectly unique and I loved every single bit of it. It is entertaining, mysterious, sexy, intriguing and super creepy.  It is filled with characters that I either loved to pieces or hated to the core. It kept me interested until the very last word, it surrounded topics that I love to read about and on top of it all, the writing was impeccable.

I’m quickly learning that no matter what Karina writes, I’m going to love it. She has such a way with words that you can’t help but let her stories take over your mind and she has her own style that is SO DIFFERENT than everything else I am reading every day. When real life interrupted and I had to put the book down, my mind was still there with it.  It’s been just about 24 hours since I finished and I still can’t stop thinking about it and I.WANT.MORE. I’m not sure why it took me so long to read this one but apparently I’m an idiot… BUT I’m nooot gonna lie, I’m sort of happy I slacked so I don’t have to wait too long for book 2 😉

I loved this book. Loved. Loved. Loved. I had no idea what it was about when I decided to dive in but when I found out…it was insta-love for me! The Devil’s Metal follows a rock band in the 70s. 70s Rock?!?! My favorite music…Ever!  How can you not love it all?! So anyways, like I said, once I realized this I was SOLD! It sucked me right in but more importantly I never lost interest. I say all the time that I was born in the wrong time, that I should have been alive to experience the late 60s and 70s. I should have been alive to tour the country following bands and living my days at music festival after music festival, to soak up all of the amazing artists that were around…GAH! So not fair that I missed all of it! But this book made me feel like I was a part of it all. Like I was living the life I had always wanted to experience right along with the characters. I have been to tons of modern day festivals and shows in attempt to make up for all that I missed and I soak in just about anything I can read or watch regarding the 70s Rock scene and I gotta say that TDM seemed so true to what this life style was like in the 70s and what it would have been like to live it. It made me feel like I was part of something that I have always wanted to experience and I loved every minute that I was wrapped up in it…

Well except for the whole creepiness that was going on. I’m all set with being part of that.  I mean really, parts of this book were seriously CREEPY. Completely shiver and cringe worthy. I haven’t read a “scary” book in years and this one was definitely not a disappointment.

This book was definitely a 5 star read for me. It had all of the elements I love in a book and so much more. I am definitely looking forward to reading The Devil’s Reprise, book two which is due to be release in October, 2013!

You all should definitely go one-click this book ASAP! You won’t regret it 😉

buynowatamazon
Or at the very least don’t forget to add The Devil’s Metal and The Devil’s Reprise to your goodreads lists!

xoxo-K

Leave a Reply

