Krystle’s 5+++ Star Review of Willow Aster’s In the Fields.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00071]
WOW. Just wow!

Five Amazingly Perfect Stars. I’d give it 500 if I could. For real. I.LOVED.THIS.BOOK. I loved it with every ounce of my being.

Yes, I’ve enjoyed a lot of the books that I’ve been reading lately but nothing has come close to this. My close circle of “book friends” are all Willow Aster nuts (especially my partner in crime Maria!) Since they are all pretty much my reading soul sisters I knew I had to hurry my butt up and take the plunge into a Willow Aster story. I wasn’t quite sure whether to read this or True Love Story first but after lots of people pointed me towards In the Fields I just couldn’t wait any longer. Obviously I had high expectations for this book after getting so many kicks in the butt to read it and let me just say, I am so so happy I did not wait another single day to read this absolutely outstanding story. It did not disappoint. It was everything I wanted and so much more.

In the Fields is a story filled with so much love and so much hate.  It is a story set it the 1970s that brings us back to a time very different than the world that we live in today. I believe that we often go through life forgetting about our past, especially the not-so-long-ago past. Sure, we still see racism around us today but nothing like this. Of course we there are still injustices due skin color going on every day but for me, I have never had to witness or experience anything like what this book portrays. I don’t think I COULD go through what this book portrays. I find that Willow Aster’s story is such an in-your-face reminder of what our country was like just 40 or so years ago. In my opinion, it is a reminder that many of us need.

This book is filled with so many remarkable characters that literally shook my soul. I can’t even begin to describe the love that I felt for some and the deep hate I felt for others. Without giving away too much let me just say that my heart felt so much pain and anger at times and was filled with so much love other times. From being introduced to the scum of the earth to being introduced to so many beautiful people the characters all felt so real and so true.  The relationships  that were built were also outstanding, I felt like I was part of something truly special as I watched the formation of what I saw as a perfectly quirky family. I fell in love with these characters and I truly don’t see them leaving my thoughts any time soon.

From the very beginning of the story the lead character Caroline had a special place in my heart. After reading the first few pages I had this instant feeling of dread come over me and I feared for whatever was going to happen to her. She is such a lovable character. It’s like you can see into her soul and see what a beautiful human being she is. She is strong. She is a fighter. She is a lover. She is everything a real woman only dreams of being. She is all of these things before some girls have given up their dolls.

As the story went on you just continued to meet these characters that ripped so many emotions out of your chest. How can an author create so many characters that you feel such a strong connection to? Apparently Willow Aster is even more amazing than anyone told me….didn’t think that was possible since I had heard a LOT of hype!

As you can tell, I recommend this book to anyone looking for a book that is very different and very special. It is perfect. It is beautiful. It is everything you could ever ask for in a story. It made me cry. It made me smile. It made my heart literally ache and left me bursting with so many emotions I could hardly stand it.

Read.This.Book. Seriously, just do it. Go ahead and one-click now and don’t you dare forget to leave a review and tell everyone how much you loved it 🙂

buynowatamazon
Click here to see our blog tour post for In the Fields
& click here to see Maria’s review!

4 thoughts on “Krystle’s 5+++ Star Review of Willow Aster’s In the Fields.

  1. This is by far the best book I have ever read! I had a range of emotions going through me from the very beginning. Hope dread anger fear longing. All of it. When I finished her book, I had to read it again. I’ve been gifting this story to so many friends Best book ever!

Leave a Reply

